The Father’s Day Project: Reflections on Fatherhood

Foreword
by Kibwe Madyun, “Baba”

I have been asked to comment on this blog on the topic of fatherhood. But, what exactly does the word “blog” mean, and how is it that it has become a preferred communication tool of the day? At any rate, that’s another discussion all together. I’m being nudged in the background to stay on the topic. 🙂 So, back to the subject at hand.

I must first comment on MANHOOD.

We must understand the importance of manhood and where it fits in the scheme of things. We are living in a time where definitions are being propelled from all directions on what it means to be a man.

It is a very touchy subject because today we see many young people who tend to believe that everything is open for discussion–because of their intellectual ability to express the things they have seen but misunderstood. They fail to understand that manhood does have a definition. This definition came with the creation of the objective realm. In other words, our physical reality.

To be a man is to get in touch with my God force. And take responsibility for that which is created from my dreams, my thoughts, and my actions. To stand on the shoulders of those who came before me, while building a foundation for those who will come after me.

Now, fatherhood is the act of sharing and caring for people that you come into contact with during life’s journey. Fatherhood allows me to learn from the men who have been my example of fathers, to teach the young what I’ve learned and to observe the babies to find out what it is that they need in order to accomplish their objectives this time around.

Fatherhood is the greatest gift that a man will receive in his life. It is the joy, the sorrows, the pain, the beauty and the uncertainty all at one time. Fatherhood is a commitment to every race. It gives a man the opportunity to create a better planet.

I’m commenting on this blog because of my love and my commitment to the person to whom this blog belongs.

I pray that my words, my thoughts and my deep feelings have been conveyed in this blog entry.

Luv,
baba

KIBWE MADYUN
Father of Ife, Taiwo, Kehinde, Abadeu, Ahkita and baby Akeru
Father figure to many (including me)
Grandfather to Ahki, Isatou and Baby Khepra 

20120617-142324.jpg

Pictured (from l to r): Menhefen (nephew), Kehinde, Abadeu, Ahkita, Alexis (niece), Ife and Taiwo

20120617-144905.jpg

Baba and Akeru


A.J. CALBERT

Father of D’Jhanir

a glimpse into fatherhood…

AJ: I don’t want to see you fighting anymore! How did it even start with that other little boy anyway?
DJ: He’s always messing with me. He’s a bully.
AJ: Bully? Well, the next time that he messes with you…you push him so hard that he’ll never want to mess with you again!
DJ: Ok…but what about telling the teacher?
AJ: Yes, yes…tell the teacher first. (and don’t tell them what Daddy told you to do)

20120617-145712.jpg 20120617-145802.jpg


KEHINDE MADYUN

Father of Khepra Ab Ari

what does fatherhood mean to you?

Fatherhood. The realization that all life up to this moment has been, in its entirety, preparation for this moment.

Watching my first-born child breach the gate between this world and the next left me gasping for air. Take a knee! Catch my breath.

Take a knee and pour libation to my fathers of yesterday, thanking them for preparing me to answer my call to manhood, my call to fatherhood.

Seeing my son’s little hand (no doubt the hand of his mother), go sailing through the air for the first time: wow! I pray that with her hand comes her heart. That he, too, may love without boundaries. That he, too, may possess her caring nature for all things living.

Mama saw him for the first time. Surveying him, taking inventory, she exclaimed, “Baby, our son has your feet!”

“Oh, wow. He does, doesn’t he?” I responded.

Well, may those little feet carry him strong.
Allowing him to bare the generational weight
That I now must carry,
and one day will be his to carry.

I once asked myself, what is the true meaning of life? Why are we here?

Looking into my son’s face for the first time, I received my answer—an answer that language falls far too short of explaining, that any father who has shared that moment instinctively knows.

While I’m sure such complex questions undoubtedly are accompanied with equally complex answers—of which I still do not know, in that moment I felt an answer that, for me, is simple and worth a life of effort and love: Fatherhood.


MENHEFEN RASBERRY
Father of Khari

what has fatherhood been like for you?

Fatherhood, for me, hasn’t been much more than a new chapter in my life. A special one that involves my best friend in the whole world returning to this planet to enjoy this wonderful life with me.
She will teach me more than I will teach her, I’m sure.

SASTEH AQA MCCLOUD
Father of Mosi

what does fatherhood mean to you?

Being a father is about relating to the sun. If you think about it, the sun is the ultimate provider. It provides light for all of its children and wives (i.e. moons), and it nourishes all life. As fathers (and husbands for that matter), we must as men provide, protect, and raise positive families at any cost.

This is, in a nutshell, what a father is to me… I am a Sun burning bright—a husband and a father to the fullest! Axe!

Epilogue
by Ciara Calbert

Congratulations and Thank You to the Fathers who participated in this Father’s Day Project, some of whom are new fathers and all of whom are great ones.  Happy Father’s Day!

Thank You and Happy Father’s Day to the late Artie Calbert, Sr., “Daddy”,  and to my Step Father, George King, Jr., who have fathered me.  Happy Father’s Day to my Uncle T., who is like a Father to me, my Uncle Bill, to all my Uncles, Baba Kibwe, my brother, A.J., and to all the men who play the Father role in my life.

Thank you and Happy Father’s Day to Abadeu Madyun (pictured below), whose actions let me know that he will be a wonderful, strong, loving Father to our children because of the wonderful, strong, loving Father Figure he is to our loved ones… and to Me.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Father’s Day Project: Reflections on Fatherhood

  1. Love it! proud of you too!!! It is great to see these aspects of people I know so well.

  2. This was a great one- wonderful! thanks.

  3. WOW! I am so proud of the brothers that responded. It fills my heart to hear such beautiful words from such great men. I have had the pleasure of of knowing the Madyun’s and the Rasberry’s. I have always been in awe of how the family grow fantastic and awesome children. Seasoned for the future and its challenges. A’se to Mama and Baba for teaching me how to be a better child, mother, and wife.

    Thank you for sharing Ciara!
    Auset Siat Egun (Niajallah Hendrix-Wilson)

Leave a Reply

