Growth Is Personal

Throughout my life, as much as I’d like to say that I’ve been independently-minded, a non-conformist, someone who marches to the beat of her own drummer, someone who doesn’t just hop on the band wagon, I’ve also surprised myself at my ability to be superficial and image conscious.

I can be judgmental, and sometimes I wonder, “Would I like others to judge me this harshly?”  So, then I scramble to sort of put away my mistakes.  Remember that Kanye West song, “When it All Falls Down”?

Here’s a line:

She’s so self conscious

She has no idea what she’s doing in college

The major that she majored in don’t make no money

But she won’t drop out. Her parents would look at her funny.

Now, tell me that ain’t insecure…

I was feeling that song for quite some time.  I used to be afraid of messing up the image of perfection that I had for myself.  Now I realize that while the image of perfection served a purpose in that it gave me something to strive for, it was also limiting.

In life, sometimes we’ve got to make our own definitions so we can forge our own path.  I’ve had to break out of the box of some of my own limiting definitions in order to take risks and grow.

Just today, however, I still found myself reflecting…  What if, when I’m famous (yes, y’all, I have dreams of being famous), people throw my mistakes in my face?  How could I handle that?  How can I manage that?

Then, as I was having this moment of reflection, it hit me! Growth is personal.

We all undergo our own process of growth in our own way, in our own time.  A friend I met in Brazil once said, “The revolution is personal.”  Whatever you believe, whatever you strive for, whatever you practice, whatever you want for yourself starts from within.

It’s a private thing.  It’s a personal thing.  It’s yours.

We ourselves are responsible for learning what life is trying to teach us.  Whether we live a very public life, or a very private life, or whether our lives are somewhere in between, we are all responsible for our own growth and development.  And, that growth is personal.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Growth Is Personal

  1. That was wonderful. A great read!

Leave a Reply

