Raised by The Left-Handed Mother

This week, my Mom celebrated her ??th (shh, can’t say) birthday. I was raised by the left-handed mother. She taught us how to be free-thinkers, how to be independent. My mother encouraged us to be open and honest with her, which has helped us develop strong decision-making skills, something I am very proud of. In fact, one of the greatest gifts that I think a parent can give her child is to teach them to own their decisions. Having children who feel like they can come to you with their plans and that you will take them seriously is not an easy status to achieve for a parent, I imagine. My Mom has always been non-judgmental.

I think a mother guides a daughter into listening to that self that is the truest of selves. Women have special powers and my mother helps me to unlock mine. That is our language.

Happy Birthday, Mommy!

[Editor’s Note, Just Added 7/26/12: I appreciate that my Mom didn’t really give me a lot of rules. She didn’t set rigid guidelines about how we should live our lives. She trusts us. I feel this has helped me to express myself and live creatively. What amazes me is how we as people gravitate towards freedom.]

Photo by Onairelav

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Raised by The Left-Handed Mother

  1. Wow!

    That was great, i don’t want you to think I’m the only one reading your blog… So…

    SKRONG!

Leave a Reply

