Show Me the Sun

DSC00183

The tour guide, who showed us some areas hit hard by Hurricane Katrina, was explaining that she had asked the man in the picture whether he liked his new home, and he said "I don't like it....I LOVE IT!"

Nola.com has been hosting monthly photo contests.  This month’s theme is “Echoes of Katrina”. I’m participating again this month.  I’ve become a fan!  What can I say?!  The city just intrigues me.  We–New Orleans and I–have a curious relationship, I guess you could say.   Sometimes I want to draw close.  Sometimes it frightens me.  Sometimes I like what I see.  Sometimes I want to run away.

New Orleans definitely has its own unique thing going on–in terms of style, history, culture, possibility, and so much more.  I would love to see the City continue to run with it.

As a matter of fact, I would like to help to give it wings to fly!

This photo is one of a gentleman sitting on the front porch of his newly remodeled solar powered home in New Orleans.  I didn’t feel like I was doing any body justice by taking pictures of all the houses I saw that were still ravaged from the storm.  I wanted to show some images that brighten my day, that help me to feel hopeful.  I feel empowered when I see this photo.  I want the people of and from New Orleans to shine!

And now a poem….

I could say

How some parts of the town were like war zones

How I wanted to cry

And my heart wanted to hide

How I became concerned about myself

Would I be able to stand it?

Would I be able to walk away? Whole?

But, at the end of the day I say

Show me the Sun, Show me the Sun

I will stay if you can Show me the Sun, Show me the Sun

I will find a way if you can Show me the Sun.


1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Show Me the Sun

  1. And now a poem is the funniest part!

Leave a Reply

